My GTD Method

A friend on FaceBook asked me recently to describe my GTD methods and how my day-to day activity for project management works.

Using this system for ALL projects and tasks (Home, Work, Personal), I have reached MIND LIKE WATER and do not stress out about deadlines. The biggest advantage of this is I TRUST the system.

I’ve plucked several techniques from Tim Ferris, 43Folders and David Allen and created the following system:

1. Each day is planned a week in advance, each Sunday evening (with a cocktail), on a top-bound, legal sized notebook.

ONLY the tasks I need to complete that day are on that page.

Each day has a repeating ACTION LIST item, to handle anything that comes in as Email ( see #4)

One day per page:

2. All projects are stored in plain folders, one project per folder.

As each project is completed, the folder is moved to the bottom drawer of my desk. This is the DONE file.

Each project folder has a NEXT ACTIONS sheet on top of all other project notes and documents in the folder

3. The NEXT ACTIONS sheet shows the next action for each project, and they are checked off as they are completed.

This allows you to walk away, get interupted, etc, and come right back to where you left off.

4. INBOX ZERO

I operate under a VERY STRICT Inbox Zero policy.

Rules in both Outlook(work) and Gmail(personal) prevent 90% of my mail from even reaching my Inbox.

System messages, family FW FW FW messages, and messages that do not require action flow into BULK and are flushed once a month.

SPAM is handled by our Barracuda(work) and Gmail black lists(personal).

When a message hits the Inbox (now down to only about a hundred a day), it is immediately filed into THREE folders:

ACTION – I will handle this when I can. Usually, I schedule 2 hours in the morning, or right before bed, to handle this list. Currently, my ACTIONS list takes between 2-3 hours to complete. Each day in my notebook

REFERENCE – Requires NO immediate action and is just reference.

DELETED – Thats it. Just delete it.

Other Tools I Use:
I record all meeting notes with a Sony IC mp3 recorder

All Sketchnotes for meetings and workshops are stored in my Moleskin

sony-ux-series-icd-ux80-hybrid-digital-voice-recorder

One thought on “My GTD Method

Comments are closed.